Skip to main content

Sciences: General

Astronomy, physics, biology, mathematics, computer/information, engineering

Science Reference E-books

Science ebooks just for you! Search, read, and cite. Citation helps are available at the bottom of each article.

photo of reference books


An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The Encyclopedia is a free, expert-reviewed collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The articles are written in non-technical language and are useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

Scientific American Podcast

Image of Scientific American Host

Loading ...

Databases for Articles

You will find plenty of full text articles in these databases for your research.  However, if you find an article that is not in full text, use the "request through interlibrary loan" or "request item" option on the database screen, or fill in the Request Article form (also on the library website) to request.  Most articles are delivered to your email box within 3-5 days. Please use your NNU email address.

The Big Picture: Using the "Everything" Search Box on the Library's Homepage

The "Everything" search means you are searching for all formats: books, ebooks, videos, CDs, and a selection of articles. To get a broad range of results, start with a very general topic.

It's a good place to start research, and to get ideas for terms. Be sure to click on the titles, then the "Description" section for more details, subject terms, tables of contents, etc. You can use the menu options on the left margin to narrow your search.

Click on the image to start searching!

Library Homepage

For more specific article searches, please look at the Journals, Magazines & Databases tab on this guide,

or go to the library's homepage to Databases A-Z (in the Research menu)


Amy Rice's picture
Amy Rice
Ask for me at the Learning Commons Service Desk OR book an appointment with me using the link above

Google Scholar Search

Using Google Scholar will limit your search of the web to scholarly materials and help you to avoid commercial and unreliable sources. 

Google Scholar and Riley Library unite!

When you are on campus, Google Scholar results automatically display a Full Text @ Riley Library link if the library has access to a particular article.

If you are off campus, use instructions in the link below to do a one-time setup of Google Scholar on your home computer or device.