Skip to main content

New York Times (NNU Campus Access): Home

Register for Access

Follow these directions to register for a NYTimes.com Group Pass, and receive full access to extensive breaking news and multimedia of the New York Times without a personal subscription.

NEW USERS

  • From a networked computer on campus visit nytimes.com/pass
  • Use your NNU email address to create a free NYTimes account
  • You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the START YOUR ACCESS screen
  • Now you can enjoy seamless access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYTimes mobile apps by logging in to your NYTimes.com account from any location

DOWNLOAD FREE MOBILE APPS:

Phones: Mobile apps for iPhone/iPod Touch (IOS 5.0+), Android (OS 2.1+), and Windows (7.5 O.S.) phones are included as part of Academic Pass

Tablets: Mobile apps for tablets are NOT part of the Academic Pass. However, you can access the NYTimes.com mobile site (mobile.nytimes.com)

Questions? Check out the FAQs in the right column of this page. You also may contact the library if you have any questions about the Library's subscription.

New York Times Digital Edition now available at NNU!

NNU Library is excited to announce that online access to The New York Times is now available to Northwest Nazarene University. This service gives students, faculty, and staff full access to the NYTimes.com and NYTimes mobile apps.

 

How to Video

Key Features of Academic Pass

NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. From the home page, one can access more than 25 Times sections, including World, Politics, New York, Opinion, Business, Technology, Science, Sports, Arts, Fashion & Style, and Video.

International Edition

Edited from Paris, London, Hong Kong and New York, The International New York Times (formerly The International Herald Tribune) provides readers with a continuous flow of geopolitical, business, sports and culture coverage from a distinctly global perspective. Users are able to read the International Edition with simple navigational tools on both the web and mobile apps. Users are also able to read the Chinese Edition on the web.

Sharing & Commenting

NYTimes.com allows the user to email an article (to both subscribers and non-subscribers) and share it via social media, including Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Reddit, and LinkedIn. Its cross-platform feature allows the user to retrieve saved articles from the device of his/her choice. The permalink feature allows hyperlinks to easily be added to any Course Management System. Users are able to submit comments on each article, and will be posted upon review by the New York Times newsroom.

Newsletters, Alerts & Times Wire

NYTimes.com provides 30+ daily and weekly newsletters on topics such as Top Headlines, Breaking News, Small Business, Movies Update, and Cooking, delivered directly to the user’s inbox. Its most recent, ‘What We’re Reading’ email newsletter features a roundup of great reads from around the web, chosen by New York Times reporters and editors. Custom alerts can also be created to monitor when specific keywords appear in NYTimes.com. Times Wire is a continuous stream of the latest articles and blog posts published on NYTimes.com.

Most Read & Recommended Articles

NYTimes.com lists the ‘most emailed’ and ‘most viewed’ articles by our readers each day. It also serves up ‘recommended for you’ articles based on the articles each user has previously viewed.

Mobility

Users have the ability to access NYTimes.com ‘on the go’ using a collection of phone and tablet apps for iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, and Kindle Fire.

Historical Coverage

NYTimes.com institutional subscriptions provide full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited for institutional subscribers.

Search

NYTimes.com provides searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns. NYTimes.com features a single search box with result-filtering that includes date range, result type (article vs. blog), section, author and the ability to search on ‘images only.’

Today’s Paper

Today’s Paper section allows the user to read all of the current day’s print content in a digital format. Contained in this section are all of the articles found in that day’s print edition (along with corresponding page numbers).

Times Topics

Times Topics pages consolidate all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on predefined topics ranging from A M Castle & Company to Zyuganov, Gennadi A. Times Topics pages cover people, subjects, organizations, and places. Times Topics also provides other resources from around the web that have been selected by researchers and editors of The New York Times.

Cross Searching with Other Relevant Content

NYTimes.com is primarily a single- source browsable tool, but it does provide content from other sources selected by the New York Times newsroom via Times Wire, Times Topics and NYT Now (top news iPhone app).

Real-Time Market Data Information & Company Research Pages

NYTimes.com provides real-time global snapshots of US and World Markets, Funds, Currencies, Bonds & Consumer Rates powered by Thomson Reuters with data

Faculty Resources

Faculty have access to The New York Times in Education and The New York Times in Leadership resources that provide educators opportunities to connect curriculum to real-world events. Resources include a daily article with discussion questions, reading lists, webcasts with Times journalists and more.

Faculty who wish to access this resource should contact Sheila Ellis, representing NYT.

FAQs

Why use the Academic Pass to read The New York Times online?

The New York Times requires a paid subscription for full access to its website, NYTimes.com.The Pass gives you unlimited access to all content on the site (1851 to present), except for a limited number of articles you can view from 1923 to 1980.

I already have a Times digital subscription, which gives me unlimited access to NYTimes.com. What should I do?

If you have an existing digital subscription, you are not eligible to activate a Pass. Please contact edu@nytimes.com (support for institutions) to discuss your options.

What are the restrictions?

You need to be connected to the NNU campus network to activate your Pass. At this time, access to articles from 1923 to 1980 is limited to five free articles on each day of your Pass.

Can I access The Times outside of my organization’s network?

Yes, as long as you have previously activated your Pass from within the NNU campus network, e.g., its designated IP ranges.

Can I access The Times from my mobile device?

You can access NYTimes.com and INYT.com on any device with a browser. Mobile apps for iPhone/iPod Touch (IOS 5.0+), Android (OS 2.1+), and Windows (7.5 O.S.) phones are included as part of Academic Pass. Mobile apps for tablets are NOT part of the Academic Pass. However, you can access the NYTimes.com mobile site (mobile.nytimes.com).

Why am I asked to log in on some occasions and not others?

This may be because your browser may clear its web cache/history if it is set to do so. In such cases you will need to log back into NYTimes.com, but you can still use your Pass.

I still need help!

Please contact library@nnu.edu