"Britannia brings you the rich documentary history of England and Wales, so that you can appreciate the foundation on which the present nations stand...[including] some of the significant charters, histories, chronicles, accounts, laws and summonses that are now available."
- Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
From UCLA, this collection "offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web."
- EBBA: English Broadside Ballad Archive
Created by the Early Modern Center in the English Department at UCSB, the Pepys Ballad Archive offers a fully-searchable database of over 1,800 broadside ballads, mostly of the seventeenth century and mostly in black-letter print. The ballads were collected by Samuel Pepys into five albums, which are held at Magdalene College, Cambridge. The ballads in the database are accessible as facsimiles, as facsimile transcriptions, and as recorded songs. Also provided are full citations for the ballads a
- Euro Docs
Contains Western European Primary Historical Documents, organized into the following categories: Medieval and Renaissance Europe, Europe as a Supernational Region and individual countries.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
From the University of Iowa, this collection "covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages."
A collection of digital archives of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Among others, there is Gallica: Voyages en France, a collection of 3000 books, 6000 images and 130 documents presenting a panorama of the history of France. This site is almost entirely in French.
- Imperial War Museums
"IWM is unique in its coverage of conflicts, especially those involving Britain and the Commonwealth, from the First World War to the present day. We seek to provide for, and to encourage, the study and understanding of the history of modern war and 'wartime experience'."
- Internet Library of Early Journals
"a joint project by the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford...aimed to digitise substantial runs of 18th and 19th century journals, and make these images available on the Internet, together with their associated bibliographic data."
- Making the History of 1989
From George Mason University, this collection "has three key features: a substantial collection of high quality primary sources; a set of multimedia interviews that make visible the processes by which historians transform events and sources into historical narratives; and lesson plans and document based questions provide historical context, tools, and strategies for teaching the history of 1989 with primary sources in ways that make “history making” visible and vivid."
- Monastic Matrix
From USC, this collection is "a scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE."
- Nazi and East German Propaganda Guide Page
From Calvin College, this collection includes Nazi and East German propaganda from pre-1933 to 1989 divided by topic and type.
- Perseus Digital Library
"Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond."
- Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee Scrapbook
"Open Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee Scrapbook and discover more about Britain's longest reigning Monarch. Through documents from the Royal Archives, paintings and photographs from the Royal Collection, audio and film clips, learn about Queen Victoria's life and reign"
- REESWeb: the Virtual Library covering Russia and Eastern Europe
"REESWeb has sought to help users identify high quality web content that is located in or focuses on the region stretching from Bohemia to Central Asia. All web sites listed in REESWeb are vetted by the editors, categorized for easy searching, and annotated to provide users with a good idea of what they will find upon visiting a site. "
- The British Library Online Newspaper Archive
Contains selected, searchable facsimile issues of:
London's Daily News (selected issues from 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1918); The News of the World (selected issues from 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1918); The Weekly Dispatch (selected issues from 1851, 1856, 1886, 1900, 1917); The Manchester Guardian (selected issues from 1851, 1856, 1886); Penny Illustrated (selected issues from 1861).