Skip to main content

History & Political Science: American History

A guide for finding and using history & political science information

Additional Sources and Repositories

American History Links

  • From the University of Oklahoma this collection contains documents from the per-colonial period through the 21st century.
  • From Duke University, this collection "presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
  • From the University of Tennessee, this collection "gathers together in one place hypertext links to the most useful identified electronic files about the American Civil War (1861-1865)."
  • From the University of Groningen, this website that contains documents, essays, biographies, and information about U.S. presidents from before 1400 to present.
  • "Find and use primary resources from [362] historical digital collections."
  • Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
  • Collections of primary sources such as images, sound recordings, and maps that document eras of American history searchable in topics such as: Advertising, African American History, Architecture, Landscape, Cities, Towns, Culture, Folklife, Environment, Conservation, Government, Law, Immigration, American Expansion, Literature, Maps, Native American History, Performing Arts, Music, Presidents, Religion, Sports, Recreation, Technology, Industry, War, Military, Women's History.
  • This archive contains over 80,000 "documents related to the study of the Presidency." The site is a "collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara."
  • From the University of Virginia, "The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery."
  • A full text online collection of more than 3,000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
  • From Middle Tennessee State University, this collection is a searchable database of primary documents, particularly diaries, letters, and photos, that span the history of women in the United States.
  • collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Hosted by the University of North Carolina.
  • The Web version of the Handbook of Latin American Studies contains annotated citations of books and articles from the humanities and social sciences disciplines. The site itself does not contain the documents, but the link for Full Text Databases may be helpful to find actual articles.
  • [at Cornell] "a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance...The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site."
  • A searchable archive of politically significant audio materials relevant to American History.
  • From George Mason University, this collection is "a highly regarded gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history."
  • From Oklahoma State University, this collection focuses on "Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes."
  • documents and images indexed by year relating to the Korean War.
  • From Cornell University, this collection is "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology."
  • "Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept forever. Those valuable records are preserved in the National Archives and are available to you."
  • "Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets."
  • Images from photos, illustrations, and postcards dating back to the 1700's through 1925. Many pictures of New York City and other historical subjects such as slavery. Also contains some historical natural history prints.
  • "Browse, locate resources, or view selected items digitally — the OAC contains more the 220,000 digital images and documents — or learn how you can gain access to the physical objects."
  • papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. Given in chronological order.
  • From Cornell University, this collection includes "over 10,000 titles, May's pamphlets and leaflets [documenting] the anti-slavery struggle at the local, regional, and national levels."
  • "uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath. The Archive contains more than 150,000 digital items, a tally that includes more than 40,000 emails and other electronic communications, more than 40,000 first-hand stories, and more than 15,000 digital images."
  • A bibliography of Books, Articles, Oral Histories and other materials dealing with the Vietnam War.
  • From Harvard, this collection is "a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection."