Skip to main content

Using Riley Library: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

How to use the resources of the library at Northwest Nazarene University.

Search Credo E-Reference Collection

Looking for a definition? Need the "big picture or background on a topic? Start here! Results will lead to more articles and books -- plus there's a citation tool or export to RefWorks feature at the bottom of each entry!

Credo Logo

Credo Reference

Business French Dictionary, Peter Collin Publishing

Jacket imageJacket imageJacket image

Credo is a set of 630 Reference books that can be accessed online. Credo allows you to search by book subject, book title, Library of Congress classification or type of reference book.  Search box for this collection is below.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is an on-line collection of 11 encyclopedias. It includes over 47,000 documents regarding History, Religion and Social Sciences.

Searching
Gale Virtual Reference Library eBooks can function just like a printed book or a database — it’s up to the user! Patrons can browse a title’s table of contents or the index or a list of illustrations to locate the desired information. However, the e-reference titles also provide patrons with basic search functionality that is simple to use — they can find terms through a keyword search, by article title or within the title of the source. For a more advanced search, Gale Virtual Reference Library supports searches that combine criteria by:

 

  • Title
  • Keyword
  • Image captions
  • Full text
  • Source titles
  • ISBN

Other Reference Ebook Collections