Skip to main content

Art: Contemporary Art & Artists

Search NNU Library & Beyond

 

Search Suggestions

Search by both the artist's name and the art piece.  If you don't find anything try

Keywords for

  • type of art,
  • the genre of art,
  • the medium,

1. Check the databases
Artists and their exhibitions are frequently reviewed in publications such as New York Times, the New Yorker, even Wall Street Journal. Just use the ALL EBSCO or ALL ProQuest database collections and include all the databases in the list - art and artists are not only discussed in art journals.  You'll find references in surprising publications including psychology, sociology, business, and even military and government databases.  You just never know!

2. Use the search box on this page or on the library's homepage
Search by keyword using "contemporary art".  Pull some of the titles from the shelf and check the indexes in the back of these books to see if your art or artist shows up in the volume.

3. Check the Reference Books tab in this guide. 
There are some great art books in the ebook reference collections and your search is checking the full text of every book - so check your results carefully.  It might look like something is a "false hit" but on closer examination it might include a small paragraph referencing your artist or their art.

4. Check the Internet Sources tab in this guide.
Yes, I know you've done a Google search, but these links might have not been included.  They are included in this guide because they have received high reviews by other librarians and experts in the field.  Give some of the links there a try.