Skip to main content

Art: Internet Sources

Google Art Project

Google Art Project claims that they are, "a unique online art experience." Indeed Google and Art Museums all over the world have worked together to create on-line galleries showcasing over 30,000 pieces of art. Much like Google Maps, Google Art Project allows the user to take virtual tours of galeries, create on-line collections of their own and zoom in to view individual art pieces. Search by collection, artist or artwork. Be aware that not all museums are complete in their tour or the artwork shown. Each individual museum was able to determine what areas of the museum and which artwork was included.

Access Google Art Project

Internet Sources

  • smarthistory smarthistory is an online art history text book that provides access to art by time period, style, artist or theme. Along with various viewable artworks they also provide access to video on art, art history and current discussions about art.

  • Artcyclopedia Database of over 7,500 artists. You can search by name, medium, subject, or movement. There are links to sites with information about the artists
  • Mother of all Art and Art History Links Pages a links page of art resources, art museums, art schools and research resources.

  • Art History Resources on the Web directory of art history resources on the web arranged by movements/periods, under which individual artists are also listed. Some of the entries have brief descriptions.
  • Web Resources for American Art-aaha historical art of America

  • The Classical Art Research Center (Oxford University) ancient art with a focus on pottery, plaster casts, gem engravings and aniquarian photos

  • Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. "The Timeline is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. It is an invaluable reference and research tool for students, educators, scholars, and anyone interested in the study of art history and related subjects."

Google Scholar Search

Look for the Full Text @ Riley Library link to get articles the library has access to! Off Campus? Adjust Google Scholar settings so you Full Text @ Riley Library links show up. Click Here to get instructions