Skip to main content

Biblical Studies: Finding Articles

Resources for the study of Christianity and Biblical Literature

About Finding Articles

This page will help you find articles of interest, both electronic and in print, from the library's periodical collection. It includes topics such as:

  • What databases are available in the fields of theology and religion
  • How to search those databases
  • How to find the actual articles, whether in print or online
  • How to find periodicals that are not in the online catalog

Remember that you can always ask a librarian—we're here to help!

Finding Articles

 

Depending on your topic, a number of databases might provide good starting points.  Here are some of the most commonly used religion databases:

1. ATLA Religion Database.  Almost always a good place to start, with the broadest range of materials among these databases.

2. JSTOR Religion.  The JSTOR Religion collection is a backfile of 31 journals.  Titles are from the Arts & Sciences I and III Collections.  Other journals in JSTOR may be of interest as many titles in the collections are inter-disciplinary.

3. Christian Periodical Index.  For an evangelical perspective on the topic, search this database in additon to ATLA Religion.

You can search 2 or more of these databases at the same time by beginning from the Riley homepage, selecting All EBSCO, and then clicking on the boxes by each database to select options for cross-searching.  Databases can also be selected/deselected while conducting searches.  It is important to note, however, that you will lose any functionality not offered by all of the databases selected.

4. Proquest Social Sciences Collection

Other databases to consider:

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Spiritus (from Project Muse)

Visit Databases @ NNU to find more subject-specific databases. History, sociology, anthropology, political science, psychology, music, art, literature, and African American studies are a few of the subject areas that overlap with various subdisciplines of theology and religious studies.

 

Browsing Religion Journals Online

Do you use Pinterest? Here is a list of recommended religion/theology journals. Some are open-access, some are the library's subscriptions.