Skip to main content

Graduate Theological Online Education & Christian Ministry Online: Theses/Dissertations

A guide for graduate students in NNU's School of Theology and Christian Ministry

How do I get a copy?

After searching, if you identify a thesis which is not in full text and would like to borrow a copy, simply send the title and author to ill@nnu.edu along with your contact information and we will do our best to process your request.  Please allow 7-10 days for this service.  There is no charge to you except the postage to return the materials when they come due.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar and Riley Library unite!

When you are on campus, Google Scholar results automatically display a Full Text @ Riley Library link if the library has access to a particular article.

If you are off campus, use instructions in the link below to do a one-time setup of Google Scholar on your home computer or device.

Search Tools for Identifying Dissertations and Theses

Building on previous research or even repeating a research study can add to the professional body of knowledge and validate theory.  Finding previous studies and dissertations are a critical step in doing a thorough literature review and can evan help you in focusing your research topic and questions.  However, finding them can sometimes be a challenge. 

In addition to the search tips for each search tool I would suggest you also limit your results by date range.  Do not limit to full text unless the database indicates that it is provided.  Even though a dissertation is not in full text, the library can locate and borrow a copy on your behalf. 

  • PsychINFO - TIP: Limit your search by "Publication Type" and select "Dissertation Abstracts".  You will not find full text dissertations in this database.  Use the REQUEST THIS ITEM THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN link and complete the form to request a copy.  Allow 7 - 10 days for delivery.
     
  • WorldCat: worldwide catalog.  Search and request dissertations from other institutional libraries.   - Narrow results using the menu on your left and select "Dissertations and Theses".  "Description" will usually show the table of contents chapter headings and also the abstract.  Watch your email for a notice to come to the library and pick up at the Service Desk.  If you are a distance student, please indicate that in the comment box of the form and we'll mail the item to your home. 

Subject Guide

Amy Rice's picture
Amy Rice
Contact:
Ask for me at the Learning Commons Service Desk OR book an appointment with me using the link above
208-467-8609