Skip to main content

Graduate Theological Online Education & Christian Ministry Online: Scholarly Web

A guide for graduate students in NNU's School of Theology and Christian Ministry

Google Scholar

Get only scholarly materials in your results.   Some full text links, "cite" tool, and notes about how many times the article is cited by OTHER scholars.  Request items NOT in full text by sending the full citation to library@nnu.edu

About Scholarly Web

There is useful (accurate) information to be found on the Internet, if you know where and how to look.  Google and Wikipedia aren't always helpful or accurate.

This page will help you:

  • Find Internet sources that have been screened by scholars in religious studies
  • Evaluate Internet sources for yourself
  • Use tools such as LibX, Google Scholar, the Internet Archive.

Don't forget to ask a librarian if you need help—we use the Web all the time!

Scholarly or Popular? Tips for evaluating websites

The Internet is loaded with helpful resources, but remember to evaluate all information with these standards in mind:

  1. Purpose:  Does the level of discourse and presentation indicate that this is a scholarly site?
  2. Authority:  Is the author/creator a recognized expert in the field?  What are the academic credentials?
  3. Accuracy:  Are there obvious errors in content, grammar, spelling?
  4. Bias:  Is the presentation balanced with differing points of view and respectful tone?
  5. Timeliness:  When was the site last updated?

Religion Directories and Archives on the web

The internet is an amazing thing!  There are places other than high end databases to find scholarly (peer reviewed, academic, vetted, "the good stuff") journal articles.  You just have to know where to look!

Here are some of those places- (evaluate linked pages carefully!)

  • Wabash Center Guide
    Selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion. A good starting place, but unfortunately not always up-to-date.
  • Intute: Best of the Web
    Free online service for best web research and study resources. Sites chosen by lecturers and librarians from universities across the UK.
  • Religion Online
    Full texts by recognized religious scholars free online. Limited selection but there's some good stuff here. Edited by Prof. William F. Fore and a team of volunteers.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals
    Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.
  • Open Directory of Internet Sources
    A directory of human indexed sites with significant content in religion.
  • Oister Digital Repository
    Millions of documents from digital archives not always searchable in Google.
  • Internet Archive
    A repository for thousands of digitized books and saved web pages.
  • OpenDOAR
    Directory of Open Access Repositories offers full-text searching of many academic repositories, where you can often find pre-prints or copies of published articles, unpublished papers, and yet-to-be-published materials.

Other Search Engines

Is your search engine really the best?  Perhaps you can do better!

See the Checklist for Evaluating Search Engines (from UC Berkley)

Try these new search interfaces, clustering engines, and suggestors or natural language searching:

  • Compare the Engines
  • Bing
    --uses results ranking by human evaluators
  • Exalead
    --some use of semantic search
    --some 'deep web' search
  • Hakia
    --searches blogs, Pubmed, and other non-traditional sources
  • Yahoo
    --traditional and topical searching
  • Yebol
    --clustered results
    --page ranking by humans and algorithms
  • Wolfram|Alpha
    --computational search engine
    --great for stats, estimates, etc.

Google Power!

Because Google is the industry leader, it pays to become an expert user.  Here are some links to tips sheets that will help you be a Google Power User.

Make Google work harder for you!