Skip to main content

Nursing: Journals / Databases

Consider this your personal library where you will find everything you need to help you complete your course of study.

Journal of Christian Nursing

Access issues from 1984 to the present.

  NOTE: Our license is for 1 simultaneous user.  If you are unable to access, please try again at a later time.

The Journal of Christian Nursing (JCN) is a quarterly, professional journal by and for nurses. JCN strives to help nurses and nursing students view nursing through the eyes of faith and practice nursing from a biblically-based, Christian perspective.

Topics covered include current issues and trends, spiritual care, ethics, values, healing and wholeness, parish nursing, missionary nursing, nursing education, personal and professional life, patient/client experiences that promote excellence in nursing or include a faith dimension (including case studies), and health care for the poor and underserved

Nursing Journals for Research

All journals are located at the NNU Riley Library or available online. Click on the version marked "Electronic Resource" or try the "Check Online Availabilty" link under Library/Call No. to see if it available in electronic form.

Handout on how to Identify Scholarly Journals

Databases for Health & Medicine

PubMed - Accessing Full Text

When you are searching PubMed and you do not have a link to full text you have a few options. 
  1. Apply the Free Full Text limiter that you see in the menu list to the left of your results. 
     
  2. Check Journals A-Z on the NNU Library home page. Here are the steps for doing that
a) Note the title of the journal and the publication date of the article.  Copy the title of the journal (NOT the title of the article) and paste it into the Journals A-Z search box on our library website.  This will result in either no hits or a list of databases where that journal can be found in our collections in full text.

b) The next step when you get to this point is to note the date range for the full text in that database.  Glance back at the date of the article you need.  Does the date of your article fall within the date range of the full text offered in the library database?  If so - simply click on the link for the database and continue clicking through to navigate to the full text provided in the library's database.  If that journal is not in full text or the article falls outside the full text date range go to option #3.

3. Click on the "Send to" option near the top right corner of the article and send the article to ill@nnu.edu and in the Additional Text box offered be sure you tell us your name and student ID number so that we know who it is coming from and that you want to request this article through interlibrary loan.