Skip to main content

Social Work: Theses/Dissertations

If your major is Social Work or you are in the NNU MSW program, this is your one-stop shop for library resources to complete your projects

NNU Master's Thesis Projects

MSW theses at Riley Library

Browse print versions submitted by previous MSW candidates since 2004. You will need to visit the library and, following the call numbers you see in the catalog,  locate them on the library's shelves in the main collection.  Master's theses can be checked out for a 4 week period and renewed. 

Request button

You can also place a hold on one of them using the "REQUEST" tool in the library catalog. This will reserve it for you until you can get to the library to check it out. 

Current library hours are posted on the front of the library's web page. 

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar and Riley Library unite!

When you are on campus, Google Scholar results automatically display a Full Text @ Riley Library link if the library has access to a particular article.

If you are off campus, use instructions in the link below to do a one-time setup of Google Scholar on your home computer or device.

Search Tools for Identifying Dissertations and Theses

Building on previous research or even repeating a research study can add to the professional body of knowledge and validate theory.  Finding previous studies and dissertations are a critical step in doing a thorough literature review and can evan help you in focusing your research topic and questions.  However, finding them can sometimes be a challenge. 

In addition to the search tips for each search tool I would suggest you also limit your results by date range.  Do not limit to full text unless the database indicates that it is provided.  Even though a dissertation is not in full text, the library can locate and borrow a copy on your behalf. 

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
  • PQDT Open - Full Text, digital dissertations and thesis on all subjects from various universities. NOTE that even though these are open access - they are still copyright protected and should be cited appropriately if you reference the publication in your research.
     


  • Full text National Digital Library of Thesis & Dissertations
  • ERIC - TIP: Limit your search by "Publication type" and select "Dissertations/Theses".  Email the citation to ill@nnu.edu if it is not in full text in the database.
     
  • PsycINFO - TIP: Limit your search by "Publication Type" and select "Dissertation Abstracts".  You will not find full text dissertations in this database.  Use the REQUEST THIS ITEM THROUGH INTERLIBRARY LOAN link and complete the form to request a copy.  Allow 7 - 10 days for delivery.

 

How do I get a copy?

After searching, if you identify a thesis which is not in full text and would like to borrow a copy, simply send us an interlibrary loan request by filling out this ILL form, and we will do our best to locate and borrow a copy of it from another library for you.  Please allow 7-10 days for this service.  Interlibrary loan is a free service to current NNU students, faculty, and staff.