Skip to main content

Art: Home

Search Suggestions

Search by both the artist's name and the art piece.  If you don't find anything try

Keywords for

  • type of art
  • genre of art
  • medium

1. Check the databases
Artists and their exhibitions are frequently reviewed in publications such as New York Times, the New Yorker, even Wall Street Journal. Just use the ALL EBSCO or ALL ProQuest database collections and include all the databases in the list.

2. Use the search box on the library's homepage
Search by keyword using "contemporary art".  Pull some of the titles from the shelf and check the indexes in the back of these books to see if your art or artist shows up in the volume.

3. Check the Reference Books tab in this guide. 
There are some great art books in the ebook reference collections and your search is checking the full text of every book -- so check your results carefully.  It might look like something is a "false hit," but on closer examination, it might include a small paragraph referencing your artist or their art.

4. Check the Internet Sources tab in this guide. 
They are included in this guide because they have received high reviews by other librarians and experts in the field.  Give some of the links there a try.

The Big Picture: Using the "Everything" Search Box on the Library's Homepage

The "Everything" search means you are searching for all formats: books, ebooks, videos, CDs, and a selection of articles. To get a broad range of results, start with a very general topic.

It's a good place to start research, and to get ideas for terms. Be sure to click on the titles, then the "Description" section for more details, subject terms, tables of contents, etc. You can use the menu options on the left margin to narrow your search.

Click on the image to start searching!

Library Homepage

For more specific article searches, please look at the Journals, Magazines & Databases tab on this guide,

or go to the library's homepage to Databases A-Z (in the Research menu)

Subject Guide

Sheryll Hampton's picture
Sheryll Hampton
Contact:
Office: Learning Commons Room 255A
(2nd floor in Library Collection Management)
208-467-8357